Student Portrait

Standard

Today was the school spelling bee and I decided to practice drawing people as I watched the kids sound, parse, and spell their ways to victory.

One of the spellers was Robert, an adorable and brilliant kindergartner. While Robert didn’t win the bee, he had a few awesome little poses that made for amazing minute line drawings and I took one and sort of ran with it until it turned out to be a portrait.

At some point I really should post the minute drawing, as cute as he is as a kid, Robert makes an even cuter kid-robot-drawing.

I don’t have too much else to say about this drawing, it was more spontaneous than anything….there really isn’t much significance about it to explain.

About Surya

Just your average first-generation South Asian American Anglophile raised on the West Coast, schooled on the East Coast and currently living in the Midwest. I have a penchant for all things brightly colored, Clarissa Dalloway, and Anne Shirley. When (if) I grow up, I want two dogs, children with surmountable issues, and a balcony. The dogs will be named Bartleby and Allistair, the names of the children and the balcony are irrelevant at this time. When I was little(er), I hated chocolate, microwaved my icecream and ate so many lemons my front teeth eroded a bit. Now that I'm (slightly) less little I hate bananas, microwave my cold-pressed coffee, and eat so many desserts I get cavities. Oh, and I was almost named Tulip.

Leave a Reply

